Author |
SAMBA installation |
DavidDickinson
Member
Posts: 16
Location: Stonehouse, Gloucestershire, England
Joined: 13.03.06 |
Posted on March 21 2006 13:55 |
|
|
Thought i'd start a new thread to document issues i've had with SAMBA.
I downloaded the samba from the link on ths site, both the src and the obj parts.
Followed the instructions on the web page, and started to link the product.
Got all the errors, so downloaded the snprintf part as well.
Modified the link.com file (called it link2.com) and every statement that referrenced samba.obj (or whatever the snprintf.obj had to be merged with) i added ",snprintf.obj" as well.
link then went 100% fine.
installed samba. 100% fine
i modified the smb.conf file in the lib directory as follows
[global] section
workgroup = home-comp /- home-comp is my domain name
netbios name = VMSSTORE /- machine name
security = SHARE /- public machine atm. no domain authentication
wins proxy = 192.168.77.3 /- ip address of wins server
guest account = SYSTEM /- full access, just for testing
ok. now the share itself
[public] /- name of the share
path = /disk$disk1/000000 /- root of a mounted disk
public = yes
only guest = no
writeable = yes
printable = no
started samba with @sys$startup:samba_startup
and lo and behold. a visible machine with a visible share
*******************
The only issue I had was that disk$disk1: at that time was pointing to a volume mounted over several disks. When i created a directory in windows, it screwed up. the folder was created on the volume in the windows 98 original name "new__folder__001.dir" or whatever it was called, but nothing showed up on the xp machine, or the 98 machine or the 2003 server.
at that point, the volume was in a state where it needed a rebuild.
after rebuild, everything was visible again, but still screwed up.
so, i scrapped the volume and tested it with a mounted disk.
that works 100% fine
guess samba doesn't work with volumes
***************************
hope this is of help to some people.
i'll be looking at tightening the security at a later date, but on my internal network, i'm not too fussed about an open storage server.
regards
-dave- |
|
Author |
Filename Size |
DavidDickinson
Member
Posts: 16
Location: Stonehouse, Gloucestershire, England
Joined: 13.03.06 |
Posted on March 22 2006 07:05 |
|
|
There appears to be a limit to filename sizes too. Tho its tricky to fathom what exactly it is.
Folders/Directories max 39 characters
Files
can create a file called abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz1234567890.txt
can rename said file to abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz1234567890ab.txt
cannot rename it to abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz1234567890abc.txt
but.... if you refresh the windows pc, the file has vanished.
if you look in vms, you can see the file and can rename it back.
***********************
anybody happen to know what the maximum file size is in vms ?
regards
dave |
|
Author |
Re: Filename Size |
brad
Member
Posts: 134
Location: Hopedale, MA USA
Joined: 15.12.05 |
Posted on March 22 2006 07:49 |
|
|
[quote:b6c93534d4="DavidDickinson"]There appears to be a limit to filename sizes too. Tho its tricky to fathom what exactly it is.
[...]
anybody happen to know what the maximum file size is in vms ?
[/quote:b6c93534d4]
According to the VMS FAQ, Section 9.4 (<http://h71000.www7.hp.com/faq/vmsfaq.pdf>:
Under ODS-2, the maximum <filename>.<extension> length is 39.39, as your example above seems to indicate.
Thanks for the posts about SAMBA; I was not aware of the restriction on bound volumes. I don't know what kind of hardware you have, but I'm running a mixture of 36 and 72G disk drives on an external shelf attached to my PWS 433au. I'm doing very simple file sharing via SAMBA. In case you might have missed it, there is a SAMBA-VMS mailing list:
<https://lists.samba.org/mailman/listinfo/samba-vms>
I'm able to get 72G disk drives on ebay for between $0.50 and $1.00/G from a couple of different sources. |
|
Author |
Filename Lengths / modified SAMBA |
DavidDickinson
Member
Posts: 16
Location: Stonehouse, Gloucestershire, England
Joined: 13.03.06 |
Posted on March 23 2006 13:30 |
|
|
this 39 char stuff is really bad for what i want to use samba and my alpha for.
i'll take a look at the samba c code and see if i can modify it for my usage.
I don't care about the file names in vms, its a storage server to me, so, I reckon i'll look at creating a system file that translates 39 char files to 256/512 length file names.
a lookup table.
yeah. a lot of work. but fulfills my purposes
thus
"jeff waynes musical version of wor of the worlds - disk 1 - the eve of the war.mp3"
becomes
000000000000000000000000000000000000001.ms
with each letter placement being base 36 this max files in a folder is 36^39
yeah. a file called ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ..... etc doesn't mean much in vms, but on my share. it'l translate it via the lookup table.
all i need is gcc or dec c
it'l be a perfectly modified samba to support MS long file names
anybody know of a good source for gcc for alpha. ?
or dec c for alpha ?
regards
-dave-
damn. thats a bold statement. saying i can do this.
whats the odds i trash the disk several times in the process |
|
Author |
Re: Filename Lengths / modified SAMBA |
brad
Member
Posts: 134
Location: Hopedale, MA USA
Joined: 15.12.05 |
Posted on March 23 2006 13:54 |
|
|
[quote:5e9852683f="DavidDickinson"]this 39 char stuff is really bad for what i want to use samba and my alpha for.
i'll take a look at the samba c code and see if i can modify it for my usage.
I don't care about the file names in vms, its a storage server to me, so, I reckon i'll look at creating a system file that translates 39 char files to 256/512 length file names.[...]
[/quote:5e9852683f]
Someone want to jump in here and talk about ODS-5? I don't want to hog the conversation... :-) |
|
Author |
|
imiller
Administrator
Posts: 277
Location: UK
Joined: 24.02.06 |
Posted on March 25 2006 22:27 |
|
|
The C compilier can be downloaded from
ftp://ftp.compaq.com/pub/products/C-CXX/openvms/c
The disk that you serve using SAMBA should be ODS5 structure. You can change it using SET VOLUME/STRUCT=5 (see HELP or manuals for details).
look out for the SAMBA V3 based CIFS for OpenVMS product. A beta release for Itanium is out now. See http://www.openvms.org/stories.php?story=06/03/23/8170467
and the release for alpha vms is expected next month. |
|
Author |
|
DavidDickinson
Member
Posts: 16
Location: Stonehouse, Gloucestershire, England
Joined: 13.03.06 |
Posted on April 05 2006 15:08 |
|
|
k.
i've played around with this for a bit since the last post.
yeah. /struct=5
better.
i had to modify the samba startup.com
the one that gives options 0,1,2
0|cancel = check the disk of ods5
1 always
2 (can't remember)
added in option 1. and lo and behold. it worked
i can now create/modify files etc
there's still a strange limit tho. which i assume is the samba software.
eg.
i copy a file (from windows called)
"A-Ha Hunting High and Low.mp3"
it gets copied correctly. but the vms name is odd. it doesnt get displayed from there on.
name in vms is
__$A__$ha__$__20-__20H__$unting__$__20H.__$igh__$__20A__$nd__$__20L__$ow__2Emp3
yeah. i know why its this name, but the naming encoding kicks it into too many letters
i assume its the samba going wrong at this point.
i've tried all the options i can see to scrap case sensitivity. cause that looks like the main culprit.
secondly. the "period" after the 39/40th character looks like samba is doing ods2 names with encoding.
vms is happy with it.
to me, until this stuff imiller suggested i look at (which isn't ready yet as far as i can see) i can't see how this is possible without dicking around with the C source.
i reckon its the samba thats causing the problem. not vms
any comments ?
regards
-dave- |
|
Author |
|
Anonymous
Member
Posts: 30
Joined: 11.12.05 |
Posted on April 05 2006 15:47 |
|
|
Looks like you're making progress.
I have the default setting for SAMBA_FILESPEC_ENCODE (0 for Alpha, 1 for VAX).
Having been inspired by your example, I've set up iTunes on my XP laptop to use files served by my VMS machine. Here's an extreme example of a filename (notice the directory name):
USER2:[brad.ITunes.The^_Corrs^_Feat^.^_Bono.VH-1^_Presents^_The^_Corrs]03^_When^_The^_Stars^_Go^_Blue.m4a;1
iTunes works fine, as long as I remember to use Windows Explorer to access the share before starting iTunes. If I forget this step, then subsequent imports of CD's or music will go to the iTunes "default" directory on my XP laptop. The only other issue is that I can't play my iTunes library away from home (unless I want to open a hole in my firewall for Windows shares - NOT!)
I don't mind the way the files are named on my VMS machine, but if there's a way to "fix" it, it would be nice. |
|
Author |
notation |
DavidDickinson
Member
Posts: 16
Location: Stonehouse, Gloucestershire, England
Joined: 13.03.06 |
Posted on April 06 2006 10:35 |
|
|
which samba did you download ans install then ?
that notation is the notation i'd expect to be using.
regards
-dave- |
|
Author |
Re: notation |
brad
Member
Posts: 134
Location: Hopedale, MA USA
Joined: 15.12.05 |
Posted on April 06 2006 11:20 |
|
|
[quote:fa9699c5cc="DavidDickinson"]which samba did you download ans install then ?
that notation is the notation i'd expect to be using.
regards
-dave-[/quote:fa9699c5cc]
Hi Dave,
I have SAMBA22820050531 - not the latest one, but should be very close to the latest version. I don't have the ZIP any more. I am planning to go to the latest and greatest when hp makes it available for Alpha (this month?) |
|
Author |
Working Samba |
DavidDickinson
Member
Posts: 16
Location: Stonehouse, Gloucestershire, England
Joined: 13.03.06 |
Posted on April 07 2006 06:30 |
|
|
well, would you believe it, i went over my notes again to see if there was something i'd missed.
ACRTL needed updating. (which also needed VMS73-PSCI and VMS73_UPDATE) patches too.
Changed the samba_startup.com back to original and it works, as i'd expect it to, encoding 100% fine.
oh! i found the patches i needed on the hp website (there's an ftp structure there that appears to hold all patches for all versions, i can post the url if needed, i found it through the we
i'll play with the volumes stuff at the weekend to see if that works too now.
I think i'll update my notes, get it in order, and fully write a guide for installing this, there's a lot to remember.
regards
dave |
|
Author |
samba drops |
DavidDickinson
Member
Posts: 16
Location: Stonehouse, Gloucestershire, England
Joined: 13.03.06 |
Posted on April 07 2006 12:07 |
|
|
i removed the previous post to update it with this one.
it appears that every 25% of the disk being filled, samba "pauses" and the copy fails.
anybody know of anything in vms that might cause this ?
oh! this happened at 25% and 50% seems too regular to be a quirk.
regards
-dave- |
|
Author |
Re: samba drops |
brad
Member
Posts: 134
Location: Hopedale, MA USA
Joined: 15.12.05 |
Posted on April 08 2006 13:30 |
|
|
[quote:4daf9654a7="DavidDickinson"]i removed the previous post to update it with this one.
it appears that every 25% of the disk being filled, samba "pauses" and the copy fails.
anybody know of anything in vms that might cause this ?
oh! this happened at 25% and 50% seems too regular to be a quirk.
regards
-dave-[/quote:4daf9654a7]
I've not used SAMBA for wholesale file copying, usually just single files (except in the case of importing CD's using iTunes, one CD at a time). I've found in general that if I need to copy large amounts of files onto VMS from another machine, that FTP works much better and faster.
Perhaps someone else here has more experience using SAMBA, and can offer some tips & tricks... |
|
Author |
SAMBA V3 for OpenVMS Alpha |
imiller
Administrator
Posts: 277
Location: UK
Joined: 24.02.06 |
Posted on May 02 2006 05:36 |
|
|
now available
http://www.openvms.org/stories.php?story=06/05/02/7903776 |
|